Blog Archives

Album Art: G.O.O.D. Music – ‘Cruel Summer’

Check out the sick cover for the highly anticipated G.O.O.D. Music compilation, Cruel Summer, due September 4.  Kanye West took to Twitter to revealed the album’s artwork, which features a topless statue over an elaborate 3-D backdrop, similar to The Throne’s Watch The Throne cover art.   The album features the chart -topping “Mercy,” featuring Pusha T, Big Sean and 2 Chainz, and “New God Flow.”

See an angled shot of the cover below.

Read the rest of this entry

Trey Songz Reveals ‘Chapter 5’ Release Date

Trey Songz took to Instagram to announce the release date for his new album, Chapter 5. The follow-up to 2010’s Passion, Pain & Pleasure arrives August 21 via Songbook/Atlantic Records.

The album is preceded by “Heart Attack,” the lead single, which cracked the top five on Billboard’s Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart this week.  “2 Reasons” featuring T.I., the second single, is expected to premiere in the coming days. Lil Wayne, Big Sean, J. Cole, and Kelly Rowland are among the artists featured on Chapter 5.

Ashanti Announces Album Title, Release Date

Above is the cover art for Ashanti’s new album, Braveheart.  Preceded by the Busta Rhymes-assisted lead single, “The Woman You Love,”  the album arrives April 17 via her label Written Entertainment/E1.

Braveheart, the follow-up to 2008’s The Declaration, features collaborations with R. Kelly and Keyshia Cole, and includes production from Rico Love, Jerry Wonda, The Bizness, Hit-Boy, Warryn Campbell and Danja.

The 31-year-old Grammy-winner disclosed information about the project during an album listening session in New York on Wednesday (March 6).  Going through 11 tracks on Braveheart, Ashanti compared her new material to that of her last album. “I think there are songs that are very different,” she said. “‘Declaration’ told a story — read the tracklisting. This record, I went for drum-heavy and melodies. There are more street records.”

Check out a tentative list of songs set to appear on Ashanti’s forthcoming album below.

Read the rest of this entry

Melanie Fiona Unveils ‘The MF Life’ Album Art, Announces Release Date

Those anticipating Melanie Fiona’s sophomore album have to wait no longer.  The Grammy-nominated singer unveiled the album’s cover and release date via Twitter. “OFFICIAL ALBUM RELEASE DATE & ALBUM COVER MARCH 27th 2012!!! You heard it here first! #TheMFLife,”  she tweeted along with the album’s official album art.

The MF Life is the follow-up to 2009’s The Bridge, which spawned the Grammy-nominated single “It Kills Me,” and is preceded by “Gone and Never Coming Back” and the Rico Love-penned “4 AM.”

Watch the music video for “4 AM” below.

Read the rest of this entry

Rick Ross Grabs Drake, Nas, & Kelly Rowland For ‘Rich Forever’ Mixtape

Rozay ensembles an all-star cast for his Rich Forever mixtape, hosted by DJ Scream and Shaheem Reid. The 19-track download features giest spots from Drake, Nas, Kelly Rowland, Diddy, Pharrell, French Montana, Wale, and John Legend, with production from hitmakers such as Boi-1da, J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, Lex Luger, and more. Rich Forever drops Friday at 3:05 p.m. EST. See official tracklist below.

Read the rest of this entry

B.o.B Announces “Strange Clouds” Album Release Date


B.o.B announced the official release date of  sophomore album on Twitter. Find out when it hits stores below.

Read the rest of this entry

Tyrese – “Stay” (Official Music Video) featuring Taraji P. Henson

Tyrese and Taraji P. Henson reunite in his music video for “Stay.” The song is one of the tracks from his upcoming album Open Invitation, which hits stores November 1.

“We had so much fun working on this,” said Tyrese. “It’s been 10 years since we both made our debut on the big screen in the now cult classic Baby Boy and now we’re getting our grown and sexy on in this “Stay” video.”

Watch “Stay” after the jump.

Read the rest of this entry

New Florence & the Machine Album Gets a Release Date

Exploding on the scene in 2009 with their debut album Lungs and breakthrough single “Dog Days Are Over,” Florence & the Machine is ready for round two.

The British indie pop band will release their sophomore album, Ceremonials, on Halloween in the U.K. and November 1 in the United States. Led by the single “What the Water Gave Me,” Ceremonials appears to be a lot darker than their debut. Check out the music video for “What the Water Gave Me” and the album track list after the jump.

Read the rest of this entry